Discover the Complete List of Women’s T20 World Cup Champions

During the inaugural edition of the Women’s T20 World Cup, New Zealand displayed outstanding batting performances, only to be bundled out for a mere 85 in the final match. England managed to chase down the total with six wickets and three overs to spare, ultimately securing victory. Claire Taylor of England was recognized as the player of the tournament for her exceptional performance.

Australia has dominated the Women’s T20 World Cup, making it to all seven finals and winning six of them. The team from Down Under suffered their only defeat in the 2016 final against the West Indies.

New Zealand was a formidable force in the 2010 edition, emerging unbeaten from the group stage and securing convincing wins. Although they defeated the host team West Indies by 56 runs in the semi-finals, Australia ultimately triumphed due to their ability to handle pressure effectively. The final saw Australia claiming victory, even after posting a modest 106 runs on the scoreboard.

Australia continued their winning streak by securing a narrow four-run victory over England in the 2012 final in Sri Lanka. Their collective bowling effort, particularly spearheaded by Jess Jonassen’s three-wicket haul, solidified their status as the first team in women’s T20 history to defend their World Cup title.

Recognizing the increasing popularity and quality of the teams, the ICC expanded the Women’s T20 World Cup to a 10-team affair, beginning with the 2014 edition. This change led to heightened competition, with South Africa, India, and the West Indies emerging as strong challengers to New Zealand, England, and Australia.

Australia continued their dominance by achieving a historic hat-trick of T20 World Cup titles, securing a six-wicket victory over England in the 2014 final in Mirpur. This marked the first time a country accomplished this feat in both men’s and women’s T20 events.


Denial of responsibility! Being Sportsfan is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment