Baltimore’s Brandon Hyde, Miami’s Skip Schumaker win Manager of the Year honors

MLB: AUG 27 Orioles at Nationals

Baltimore Orioles manager, Brandon Hyde, has had quite the journey from leading the team to an AL-best 101 victories just two years after a 110-loss season. Miami Marlins’ Skip Schumaker also received the National League award, both of which were decided by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Hyde shared his thoughts, “I want to say patience, but I think I was guilty a lot of nights of not being patient. I think consistent around the players. I think I hid a lot of things from them — in a good way.”

In a dramatic recovery, Hyde led Baltimore through tough times before the Orioles improved to 83-79 in 2022. He expressed confidence in the team’s turnaround, “I had confidence that we were going to turn this thing around, but you struggle to see when. Last year, there came a point where you saw the light at the end of the tunnel.”

Baltimore was more than ready to take the next step this season thanks to a sparkling core of young talent. Baltimore infielder Gunnar Henderson was unanimously voted as the AL Rookie of the Year.

Hyde received 27 of 30 first-place votes, with Bruce Bochy of Texas getting the other three, as Schumaker led Miami to an 84-78 record in his first season at the helm. The Marlins lost to Philadelphia in the Wild Card Series.

Bringing a sense of unpredictability to this year’s games, Schumaker and his staff went through a lot of ups and downs but managed to secure an impressive record with a lot of one-run victories, “A lot of this season just didn’t make sense, and I think that’s why our staff would kind of look at each other and go, ‘Here we go again. You know it’s going to happen — down three in the eighth and you know what’s going to happen. It’s bound to happen,’”

Not only did Baltimore and Miami secure impressive records, but the Marlins also had their fourth Manager of the Year with Schumaker’s win. He is the ninth person to win Manager of the Year in his first full season as a big league skipper.

Hyde is the ninth Manager of the Year who didn’t play in the majors, joining a list of accomplished leaders.

Prior to joining the Orioles, Hyde was a bench coach for the Chicago Cubs under Maddon, and it was Maddon who announced the winners Tuesday night on MLB Network.

Hyde became the fourth Baltimore manager to win, following Showalter in 2014, Davey Johnson in 1997 and Frank Robinson in 1989.


Denial of responsibility! Being Sportsfan is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment