Lilia Vu Wins 2023 Player of the Year Award, Atthaya Thitikul Earns Vare Trophy Honors | LPGA

Vu and Thitikul Make History with Season-Ending Honors

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., Nov. 19, 2023 – In a historic moment for the LPGA Tour, Lilia Vu and Atthaya Thitikul have been honored with the 2023 Rolex Player of the Year award and Vare Trophy, respectively, following their impressive finishes at the CME Group Tour Championship. Vu’s achievement marks the first time an American has received the Rolex Player of the Year since Stacy Lewis in 2014, and Thitikul becomes the second player from Thailand to earn the Vare Trophy.

As the season finale approached, the race for the Player of the Year award was closely contested between Vu and Celine Boutier. Ultimately, Vu secured the title after winning The ANNIKA driven by Gainbridge at Pelican and clinching victory at the CME Group Tour Championship. This remarkable season also saw Vu win at the Honda LPGA Thailand and claim two major championships, making her the first American to achieve such a feat in over two decades.

Thitikul made history of her own by winning the Vare Trophy with the season’s lowest scoring average, without securing a victory throughout the year. Her consistency and remarkable performances led her to this prestigious honor, showcasing her resilience and determination to bounce back from challenging times during the season.

Both players have left a lasting mark on the 2023 LPGA Tour season, setting new records and paving the way for future generations of golfers. Their accomplishments exemplify the spirit of excellence and sportsmanship that defines the LPGA Tour.

The prestigious Rolex Player of the Year award was introduced to the LPGA in 1966. LPGA Tour players are awarded points at each official LPGA tournament based on top-10 finishes with the top points earner taking home the honor each year. Points are doubled at each of the LPGA Tour’s five major championships – The Chevron Championship, the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, the U.S. Women’s Open, the Amundi Evian Championship and the AIG Women’s Open.

The Vare Trophy was presented to the LPGA by Betty Jameson in 1952, in honor of the great American player Glenna Collett Vare. Vare Trophy scoring averages are computed on the basis of a Member’s total yearly score in Official Tournaments divided by the number of official rounds she played during a season.


Denial of responsibility! Being Sportsfan is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment