Hae Ran Ryu Wins 2023 Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year Award | LPGA

Ryu secures honor heading into the season-ending CME Group Tour Championship

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., Nov. 13, 2023 – Hae Ran Ryu has been named the 2023 Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year by the LPGA Tour. Her achievement comes after securing a tie for 12th place at The ANNIKA driven by Gainbridge at Pelican last week. Heading into the CME Group Tour Championship, she has accumulated 893 total points, leading Grace Kim by an impressive 274-point margin.

Ryu’s accolade marks the sixth time a player from the Republic of Korea has received the honor since 2015, with her being the first since Jeongeun Lee6 in 2019. She also becomes the 14th Korean to earn the award since Se Ri Pak in 1998.

“Earning the Rookie of the Year award and joining past winners is a tremendous honor. This season has been unforgettable, and I’m proud of my accomplishments on the LPGA Tour,” said Ryu. “I’m grateful to my team and fans for their support during my first season and can’t wait to finish the year at the CME Group Tour Championship.”

The 22-year-old secured LPGA Tour Membership after finishing with medalist honors at the 2022 LPGA Q-Series. At the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship presented by P&G, she secured a three-stroke victory over Linnea Strom, claiming her first Rolex win. Ryu is the fifth Tour rookie to secure a win this season and has also achieved five top-10 finishes, including a solo third at the Mizuho Americas Open and a solo fourth at the Cognizant Founders Cup. She also achieved her career-best major championship result at the U.S. Women’s Open, finishing eighth.

Ryu’s stats heading into the final week of the 2023 season are impressive, ranking second in greens in regulation (75.72%), third in birdies (314), tied for seventh in eagles (9), and tied for 10th in rounds under par (43). She has earned over $1.5 million this season and sits 15th on the year’s Official Money List.

Prior to joining the LPGA Tour, she competed in six Tour events, earning top-15 finishes at the 2020 U.S. Women’s Open (T13) and the 2021 BMW Ladies Championship (T7). Ryu has also had success on the KLPGA, winning five times and earning Rookie of the Year honors in 2020. As an amateur, she won the 2018 Korean Women’s Amateur and participated in several international tournaments.

Ryu will be presented with the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year award at the 2023 Rolex LPGA Awards ceremony, to be held at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort in Naples, Fla., during the week of the season-ending CME Group Tour Championship.

Sincere since its beginning, 12 Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year winners have gone on to become members of either the LPGA Hall of Fame or World Golf Hall of Fame: Susie Maxwell Berning (1964), Joanne Carner (1970), Jan Stephenson (1974), Amy Alcott (1975), Nancy Lopez (1978), Beth Daniel (1979), Patty Sheehan (1981), Juli Inkster (1984), Annika Sorenstam (1994), Karrie Webb (1996), Se Ri Pak (1998), and Lorena Ochoa (2003).


Denial of responsibility! Being Sportsfan is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment